Joseph Adlestein Professional Leadership Award

Established in 2010, the Dr. Joseph Adlestein Professional Leadership Award is given to an individual in a professional role who is a powerful advocate for people with disabilities, supporting them to be valued and fully participating members of society. Each year, the Award Committee, appointed by the Keystone Human Services Board of Directors, chooses an awardee from nominations submitted by the community.

Dr. Adlestein was a long-term Corporate Member of Keystone Human Services and worked tirelessly in support of people with mental illness and developmental disabilities. He served on the advisory board for President John. F. Kennedy, and he championed the Mental Health Act of 1966, which changed community services for people with mental illness, intellectual disabilities, and alcoholism. He was an inspiration to many people, inspiring them to see the greatness in themselves and look beyond their own needs. A devoted family man, he and his wife raised their children to be people of compassion. Dr. Adlestein passed away in 2010.

Past Recipients

  • 2021: Mary Pelletier and Jo Pepper
  • 2020: Carol Dougherty
  • 2019: Robert Baker
  • 2018: Roger W. Burns
  • 2017: Dr. Ludmila Malcoci
  • 2016: Molly Cole and Ellie Myers
  • 2015: Charles DeHart III, Esq.
  • 2014: Dana Olsen
  • 2013: Charles J. Hooker, III
  • 2012: Elizabeth Neuville
  • 2011: Shirley Walker
  • 2010: Ann. H. Moffitt